營養研究

食用蘋果的好處

研究指出,食用蘋果與多種營養益處有關。下列近期蘋果相關研究摘要,是由「美國蘋果協會」所彙總的。請至他們的網站 www.usapple.org 進一步瞭解。

減重

里約熱內盧國立大學的研究人員研究了減重過程中攝取水果的影響,發現同樣採用低卡飲食時,每天吃等量三顆蘋果或梨子的過重女性,會比飲食中未加入水果的女性減重更多。(Nutrition, 2003, 19: 253-256)

大腦健康

麻州大學洛威爾分校提出越來越多的證據,表示吃蘋果和喝蘋果汁有益於改善大腦健康與減輕阿茲海默症的症狀。搭配均衡飲食攝取蘋果和蘋果汁,能避免導致記憶力喪失的氧化性腦損傷。在每天攝取等量 2-3 杯蘋果汁或 2-4 顆完整蘋果的動物身上,也能發現對大腦健康的好處。對診斷為中度至嚴重阿茲海默症的一群患者所進行的臨床試驗顯示,喝蘋果汁能大幅改善情緒與行為。(Am J Alzheimer’s Dis Other Demen, 2010, 25: 367-371, AgroFOOD Industry High-Tech, 2009, 20; 6: 32-34, Journal of Alzheimer’s Disease, 2009, 16:1; Journal of Alzheimer’s Disease, 2005, 8: 283-287; Journal on Nutrition Health and Aging, 2004, 8: 92-97)*

康乃爾大學的研究人員也發現,在體外研究中,蘋果的營養成份能保護大腦神經元不致受到氧化性損傷。這類的損傷可能導致阿茲海默症與帕金森氏症等神經退化性疾病。研究強調槲皮素 (quercetin) 這種特定的蘋果類黃酮是發揮這種保護作用的主要化合物。(Journal of Food Science, 2004, 69: S357-S360)*

癌症

乳癌:康乃爾大學的一系列研究評估了蘋果對動物乳癌防治的直接效果。測試的動物食用越多蘋果,越能減少腫瘤的發生率或數量。試驗中所攝取的蘋果量等同於在 24 週內一天食用一到六顆蘋果。(Journal of Agric. Food Chem., 2009, 53: 2341-2343)*

胰臟癌:天然蘋果所含的「槲皮素」這種類黃酮,已被確定是對預防或減少胰臟癌最有幫助的類黃酮之一。雖然研究受試者的總體風險都有所減少,但對於攝取富含類黃酮食物的吸煙人士,風險下降的幅度格外明顯。( American Journal of Epidemiology, 2007, 8: 924-931)

結腸癌和肝癌:康乃爾大學的一支研究團隊發現,有一組果皮中含量較豐富的植物生化素似乎能殺死或抑制結腸癌、乳癌和肝癌等至少三種人類癌細胞生長。(Journal of Agricultural and Food Chemistry, 2007, 55(11):4366 – 4370)

前列腺癌:明尼蘇達州羅徹斯特「梅約診所」的研究人員報告指出,蘋果中含量最豐富的「槲皮素」這種植物性營養素能提供預防或治療前列腺癌的新方法。他們在體外研究中發現,槲皮素能阻斷雄性荷爾蒙的活性,抑制或防止人類前列腺癌細胞生長。先前研究也證實雄性激素與前列腺癌的生長與惡化有所關聯。(Carcinogenesis, 2001, 22: 409-414)

大腸癌:光是一天吃一顆蘋果,就能將罹患大腸癌的風險減少三分之一以上。波蘭研究人員調查了 592 位大腸癌患者與 700 位未罹癌人士的飲食與生活方式。未罹癌人士所吃的蘋果比癌症患者多,且每天所吃的蘋果越多,越不容易罹患大腸癌。他們也發現即使個人攝取少量蔬菜水果,只要一天至少吃一顆蘋果,就能看到抗癌效果。所觀察到的保護效果可能是由於蘋果富含能抑制癌症發生與癌細胞增生的類黃酮和其他多酚。此外,蘋果也是很好的纖維來源,而已知高纖飲食能降低大腸癌的風險。(European Journal of Cancer Prevention, 2010, 19(1):42-47)

代謝症候群

代謝症候群是多種與糖尿病和心臟病相關的健康問題。蘋果產品消費者一般血壓較低,腰圍也較纖細,因此這方面風險也較低。(Experimental Biology 2008 Poster (未發表))。*

抗氧化劑

美國農業部 (USDA) 將三種特定品種的蘋果歸納至前 20 大抗氧化劑來源。雖然研究只強調特定的三個品種的蘋果,但所有蘋果都具備有益的抗氧化劑含量,以及其他健康的營養特質。蘋果所含的抗氧化劑有三分之二位於果皮。(USDA Agricultural Research Service, 2007)

肺部健康

英國研究報告指出,懷孕期間吃蘋果的母親,生下的孩子到了 5 歲時較不容易有氣喘(包括哮喘)等症狀。懷孕婦女所攝取並記錄下來的各種食物當中,蘋果是唯一發現對降低氣喘風險有正面關聯的一種食物。(Thorax, 2007, 62:745-746.) 澳洲研究人員報告指出,食用蘋果與梨子的研究受試者罹患氣喘的風險最低。(American Journal of Clinical Nutrition, 2003;78: 414-21)。

倫敦國王學院和英國南安普敦大學的一項研究指出,每週至少食用兩顆蘋果的人,患有氣喘的風險比較少食用蘋果的人低達 22% – 32%。(Am. J. Respir. Crit. Care Med, 2001, 164: 1823-1828)。

美國國立衛生研究院 (NIH) 的一項研究指出,富含纖維與類黃酮的食物能減少慢性咳嗽和其他呼吸症狀 — 而蘋果中兩者的含量都很豐富。夏威夷大學和芬蘭國家公共衛生研究所的研究人員還發現,蘋果中的類黃酮與降低罹患特定癌症(包括肺癌)的風險有所關聯。(Am. J. Respir. Crit. Care Med, 2004, 170: 279-287; Journal of the National Cancer Institute, 2000, 92: 154-160; American Journal of Epidemiology, 1997, 146: 223-230)

心臟健康

一項研究已確定蘋果中常見成份與停經後婦女的心臟健康之間的可能關聯。研究結果指出,增加蘋果的攝取有助於同時降低冠狀動脈心臟病和心血管疾病的死亡率。(American Journal of Clinical Nutrition, 2007, 85 (3): 895-909.)

一項法國研究指出,總膳食纖維含量最高的飲食和不溶性膳食纖維的攝取,與顯著降低多種心臟疾病風險因素(包括過重、腰臀比過高、血壓和膽固醇含量)有所關聯。(American Journal of Clinical Nutrition, 2005, 82: 1185-1194)。

美國研究人員報告指出,每天每攝取 10 克的纖維素,罹患心臟疾病的風險就會減少 14%,因心臟疾病而死亡的風險會減少 27%。來自水果的纖維素防護效果略高於穀物,能將罹患冠狀動脈心臟病而死亡的風險減少 30%。(Arch Int Med, 2004, 164: 370-376)

加州大學戴維斯分校的研究人員根據同類型首次人類研究報告指出,每日攝取蘋果和蘋果汁有助於降低第二型不良膽固醇造成的傷害,並防止心臟病。(Journal of Medicinal Food, 2000, 3: 159-165)。該校稍早的研究中,曾於體外試驗得到類似的發現。他們也證實,蘋果中重要的植物營養素在蘋果汁中也存在。(Life Sciences, 1999, 64: 1913-1920)*

免疫

根據伊利諾大學的研究,果膠等蘋果中的可溶性纖維能減少肥胖相關疾病有關的發炎,並強化免疫系統。餵食低脂飲食加上可溶性或不溶性纖維的實驗動物,當免疫系統受到破壞時表現出截然不同的反應。餵食可溶性纖維的動物病症較輕,復原速率高過其他動物。(Brain, Behavior, and Immunity, 2010, in press/available online)

腸道健康

丹麥大學的研究人員發現,蘋果和蘋果產品能增加腸內益菌,讓您的腸道保持健康並增強免疫力。科學家以各種型態的蘋果(包括果汁、蘋果醬和整顆蘋果)餵食老鼠後,老鼠能產生較大量的腸內益菌。研究人員相信這是因為蘋果所含的果膠。果膠是植物細胞壁內的類纖維物質,通常包裝為膠化劑供人們自製果醬與果凍時使用。蘋果是這種纖維狀物質的天然來源。腸道內的有益細菌喜歡吸收蘋果果膠,以複製並增生,在腸道內發揮對抗疾病的良好功效。(BMC Microbiology 2010, 10:13)

* 表示研究由「美國蘋果協會」或其研究夥伴「蘋果製品研究及教育協會」(APREC)(前身為「蘋果加工協會」)出資

Nutrition Research

Benefits of Apple Consumption

Research links apple consumption with a range of nutrition benefits. The following summary of recent apple-related research was compiled by the USApple Association. Find out more on their website at

Weight Loss

Researchers from the State University of Rio de Janeiro studying the impact of fruit intake on weight loss found that overweight women who ate the equivalent of three apples or pears a day lost more weight on a low-calorie diet than women who didn’t add fruit to their diet. (Nutrition, 2003, 19: 253-256)

Brain Health

A growing body of evidence from the University of Massachusetts-Lowell suggests that eating apples and drinking apple juice can be beneficial when it comes to improving brain health and diminishing symptoms of Alzheimer’s disease. In conjunction with a balanced diet, apple and apple juice consumption may protect against oxidative brain damage that can lead to memory loss. The brain health benefits were found when animals consumed the equivalent of 2-3 cups of apple juice or 2-4 whole apples per day. A clinical trial showed that drinking apple juice significantly improved mood and behavior among a group of patients diagnosed with moderate-to-severe Alzheimer’s disease. (Am J Alzheimer’s Dis Other Demen, 2010, 25: 367-371, AgroFOOD Industry High-Tech, 2009, 20; 6: 32-34, Journal of Alzheimer’s Disease, 2009, 16:1; Journal of Alzheimer’s Disease, 2005, 8: 283-287; Journal on Nutrition Health and Aging, 2004, 8: 92-97)*

Researchers from Cornell University also found in an in vitro study that apple nutrients protected brain neurons against oxidative damage. Such damage can contribute to neurodegenerative diseases such as Alzheimer’s and Parkinson’s. The study highlighted a particular apple flavonoid, quercetin, as a principle compound responsible for the protective effect. (Journal of Food Science, 2004, 69: S357-S360)*



Breast Cancer: A series of studies at Cornell University have evaluated the direct effects of apples on breast cancer prevention in animals. The more apples consumed, the greater the reduction in incidence or number of tumors among test animals. The apple consumption tested was equivalent to one to six apples a day for 24 weeks. (Journal of Agric. Food Chem., 2009, 53: 2341-2343)*

Pancreatic Cancer: Quercetin, a flavonoid found naturally in apples, has been identified as one of the most beneficial flavonols in preventing and reducing the risk of pancreatic cancer. Although the overall risk was reduced among the study participants, smokers who consumed foods rich in flavonols had a significantly greater risk reduction. ( American Journal of Epidemiology, 2007, 8: 924-931)

Colon and Liver Cancer: A research team at Cornell University identified a group of phytochemicals that are more abundant in the peel and appear to kill or inhibit the growth of at least three different types of human cancer cells: colon, breast and liver. (Journal of Agricultural and Food Chemistry, 2007, 55(11):4366 – 4370)

Prostate Cancer: Researchers at Rochester, Minn.’s Mayo Clinic report that quercetin, a plant-based nutrient found most abundantly in apples, may provide a new method for preventing or treating prostate cancer. They found that quercetin inhibited or prevented the growth of human prostate cancer cells by blocking activity of androgen hormones, in an in vitro study. Previous studies had linked androgens to prostate cancer’s growth and development. (Carcinogenesis, 2001, 22: 409-414)

Bowel Cancer: Eating just one apple a day could slash the risk of colorectal cancer by more than one third. Researchers in Poland surveyed 592 people with colorectal cancer and 700 cancer-free individuals about their diet and lifestyle. Cancer-free individuals tended to eat more apples than those with cancer and the more apples per day that an individual ate the less likely they were to develop colorectal cancer. They also found that the anti-cancer effect was seen even when an individual had a low total consumption of fruits and vegetables but consumed at least an apple a day. The observed protective effect may result from apples rich content of flavonoid and other polyphenols, which can inhibit cancer onset and cell proliferation. In addition, apples are a good source of fiber and a high-fiber diet is known as a risk reducer for colorectal cancer. (European Journal of Cancer Prevention, 2010, 19(1):42-47)


Metabolic Syndrome

Apple product consumers are likely to have lower blood pressure and trimmer waistlines, resulting in a reduced risk of metabolic syndrome, a cluster of health issues related to diabetes and heart disease. (Experimental Biology 2008 Poster (unpublished)).*


The United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) categorized three specific varieties of apples among the top 20 antioxidant sources. While the study highlighted three apple varieties in particular, all apples contain beneficial levels of antioxidants and have other healthful nutrition properties. Two-thirds of an apple’s antioxidants are found in its peel. (USDA Agricultural Research Service, 2007)

Lung Health

Research from the UK reports that children of mothers who eat apples during pregnancy are much less likely to exhibit symptoms of asthma, including wheezing, at age 5. Among a variety of foods consumed and recorded by the pregnant women, apples were the only food found to have a positive association with a reduced risk of asthma. (Thorax, 2007, 62:745-746.) Researchers from Australia report that study participants who ate apples and pears had the lowest risk of asthma. (American Journal of Clinical Nutrition, 2003;
78: 414-21).

A study from London’s King’s College and the University of Southampton reports that people who ate at least two apples per week had a 22-32 percent lower risk of developing asthma than people who ate fewer apples.
(Am. J. Respir. Crit. Care Med, 2001, 164: 1823-1828).

A study from the National Institutes of Health (NIH) reports that foods rich in fiber and flavonoids — found abundantly in apples — may reduce chronic productive cough and other respiratory symptoms. Researchers at the University of Hawaii and Finland’s National Public Health Institute have also linked flavonoids found in apples with a reduced risk of developing certain cancers, including lung cancer. (Am. J. Respir. Crit. Care Med, 2004, 170: 279-287; Journal of the National Cancer Institute, 2000, 92: 154-160; American
Journal of Epidemiology, 1997, 146: 223-230)


Heart Health

A study has identified a possible link between a common component of apples and heart health in postmenopausal women. The study results indicate that increased consumption of apples may contribute to a decrease in mortality from both coronary heart disease and cardiovascular disease. (American Journal of Clinical Nutrition, 2007, 85 (3): 895-909.)

A French study found that diets with the highest total dietary fiber and nonsoluble dietary fiber intakes were associated with a significantly lower risk of several heart disease risk factors, including overweight, elevated waist-to-hip ratio, blood pressure, and cholesterol levels. (American Journal of Clinical Nutrition, 2005, 82: 1185-1194).

U.S. researchers report that for every 10 grams of fiber consumed per day the risk of developing heart disease may decrease 14 percent, and the risk of dying from heart disease may decrease 27 percent. Fiber from fruits appeared to be slightly more protective than cereal fiber, lowering the risk of coronary disease death by 30 percent. (Arch Int Med, 2004, 164: 370-376)

Researchers at the University of California-Davis report that daily consumption of apples and apple juice may help reduce the damage caused by the ―bad‖ type of cholesterol and protect against heart disease, based on the first human study of its kind. (Journal of Medicinal Food, 2000, 3: 159-165). An earlier study from UC-Davis Davis reported similar findings in vitro. They also confirmed that important phytonutrients from apples are also found in apple juice. (Life Sciences, 1999, 64: 1913-1920)*



Soluble fiber, like pectin from apples, may reduce the inflammation associated with obesity-related diseases and strengthen the immune system, according to a study from the University of Illinois. Lab animals fed a low-fat diet with either soluble or insoluble fiber showed distinctly different responses when their immune system was challenged, with the soluble-fiber-fed animals displaying the less sickness and a faster recovery rate than the other animals. (Brain, Behavior, and Immunity, 2010, in press/available online)

Gut Health

Researchers from the University of Denmark have discovered that apples and apple products could give the health of your intestines as well as your immune system a boost – by increasing the numbers of good gut bacteria. When scientists fed rats a diet of apples in all its forms including juice, applesauce, and the whole fruit, the rats developed larger numbers of good gut bacteria. Researchers believe it is due to the pectin the apple contains. Pectin is a fiber-like substance found in the cell walls of plants, and is often packaged and used as a gelling agent for people who make their own homemade jams and jellies. Apples are a natural source of this fiber-like material. The friendly bacteria in the intestines like to feed on apple pectin which allows them to replicate and thrive while doing their good disease fighting deeds in the intestines. (BMC Microbiology 2010, 10:13)

* Indicates study was funded by the U.S. Apple Association or its research partner, the Apple Products Research & Education Council (APREC) (formerly the Processed Apples Institute)