關於華盛頓蘋果協會

華盛頓蘋果協會:在全球推廣華盛頓蘋果

華盛頓蘋果協會 (Washington Apple Commission) 的主要目的是為華盛頓州收穫的新鮮蘋果進行宣傳、推廣、教育與行銷開發。目前在美國並未進行推廣活動,但我們在銷售華盛頓蘋果的 30 幾個外銷國家中都已安排好推廣活動。

本會最初是在西元 1937 年由美國華盛頓州議會應蘋果產業之要求,以「華盛頓州蘋果宣傳協會」之名所成立,是美國歷史最悠久的商會之一。

協會根據法定權限,對所有新鮮蘋果出貨強制徵收受益稅。轉送至果汁、果醬等蘋果加工業者的蘋果則不予課稅。

稅率是由州內商業蘋果果農公投決定,每年維持固定,直到由果農變更為止。稅率自 1937 年起由果農增加了 13 次,從最初的每箱 1 美分增加到高達每 一個42 磅包裝箱 需徵收40 美分。接著 在2003 年的一樁訴訟讓協會重組,當時的稅率是每箱 3.5 美分。

協會設 14 名理事,其中九位由特定區域的蘋果農投票選出,四位則由特定區域的蘋果販運商和營銷商投票選出。一位為州農業廳廳長。每位理事的當選任期為三年。

由於協會係因應州政府要求成立,且在農業廳長核准預算並擔任理事的狀況下,由果農管理與全額出資,因此被視為政府機關。

About the Commission

The Washington Apple Commission: Promoting Washington Apples Around the Globe

The primary purpose of the Washington Apple Commission is advertising, promotion, education and market development for the Washington fresh apple crop. Currently no promotions are being implemented in the United States, but our promotions are in place in more than 30 countries where Washington apples are sold.

Initially established in 1937 by the Washington State Legislature as The Washington State Apple Advertising Commission –at the request of the apple industry–we are one of the oldest commodity commissions in the United States.

Under statutory authority, the Commission collects a mandatory assessment levied against all fresh apple shipments. No revenues are received from apples diverted to apple processors for juice, sauce, etc.

The assessment rate is established by a referendum of commercial apple growers in the state, and remains at the same level yearly until changed by growers. Since 1937, growers have increased the assessment 13 times from its original 1 cent per box to as high as 40 cents per 42-lb box. Then in 2003 a lawsuit restructured the Commission and at this time the assessment is 3.5 cents per box.

The Commission has a 14-member board of directors, nine of whom are elected by the apple growers in specified districts and four of whom are elected by the apple shippers and marketers in specified districts. One is the Director of Agriculture. Each Commissioner is elected for a three-year term.

The Commission is considered a governmental agency since it is state-mandated, yet is governed and totally funded by growers under the supervision of the Director of Agriculture who approves the budget and sits on the Board of Directors.