نبذة عن هيئة تفاح واشنطن

هيئة تفاح واشنطن: الترويج لتفاح واشنطن حول العالم

يتمثل الهدف الرئيسي لهيئة تفاح واشنطن في الدعاية لمحصول تفاح واشنطن الطازج، والترويج له، والتعريف به وتنمية أسواقه. لا توجد حاليًا أيّ عروض ترويجية سارية داخل الولايات المتحدة، لكن عروضنا مطبّقة في أكثر من 30 بلدًا يبيع تفاح واشنطن.

بادر المجلس التشريعي لولاية واشنطن بتأسيس الهيئة في البداية عام 1937 باسم هيئة الدعاية لتفاح ولاية واشنطن، وذلك استجابة لطلب صناعة التفاح، مما يجعلها واحدة من أقدم هيئات الترويج للسلع في الولايات المتحدة.

تجبي الهيئة، بموجب السلطة التشريعية، ضريبة إجبارية مفروضة على كل شحنات التفاح الطازج. غير أنها لا تتحصل على أيّ إيرادات من شحنات التفاح المقرر معالجتها لصناعة العصائر، والصلصات، وما شابه.

تتحدد قيمة الضريبة بناءً على استفتاء يضم جميع مزارعي التفاح لأغراض تجارية في الولاية، وتظل سنويًا عند نفس المستوى حتى يغيرها المزارعون. رفع المزارعون قيمة الضريبة 13 مرة منذ عام 1937، لتزيد من القيمة الأصلية التي بلغت سنتًا واحدًا لكل صندوق إلى 40 سنتًا لكل صندوق يزن 42 رطلاً. ثم أعيدت هيكلة الهيئة بموجب دعوى قضائية أقيمت في عام 2003، وكانت الضريبة في ذلك الوقت تبلغ 3,5 سنت لكل صندوق.

يضم مجلس إدارة الهيئة 14 عضوًا، ينتخب مزارعو التفاح في مناطق محددة تسعة منهم، في حين ينتخب مسؤولو شحن التفاح وتسويقه في مناطق محددة أربعة آخرين. ويشغل مدير الزراعة مقعد العضو الخامس عشر. ويتم انتخاب كل عضو من أعضاء الهيئة لمدة ثلاثة أعوام.

تعد الهيئة وكالة حكومية، نظرًا لأنها تعمل بتفويض من الولاية، غير أن المزارعين هم الذين يديرونها ويموّلونها بالكامل، تحت إشراف مدير الزراعة الذي يعتمد الميزانية ويترأس مجلس الإدارة.

About the Commission

The Washington Apple Commission: Promoting Washington Apples Around the Globe

The primary purpose of the Washington Apple Commission is advertising, promotion, education and market development for the Washington fresh apple crop. Currently no promotions are being implemented in the United States, but our promotions are in place in more than 30 countries where Washington apples are sold.

Initially established in 1937 by the Washington State Legislature as The Washington State Apple Advertising Commission –at the request of the apple industry–we are one of the oldest commodity commissions in the United States.

Under statutory authority, the Commission collects a mandatory assessment levied against all fresh apple shipments. No revenues are received from apples diverted to apple processors for juice, sauce, etc.

The assessment rate is established by a referendum of commercial apple growers in the state, and remains at the same level yearly until changed by growers. Since 1937, growers have increased the assessment 13 times from its original 1 cent per box to as high as 40 cents per 42-lb box. Then in 2003 a lawsuit restructured the Commission and at this time the assessment is 3.5 cents per box.

The Commission has a 14-member board of directors, nine of whom are elected by the apple growers in specified districts and four of whom are elected by the apple shippers and marketers in specified districts. One is the Director of Agriculture. Each Commissioner is elected for a three-year term.

The Commission is considered a governmental agency since it is state-mandated, yet is governed and totally funded by growers under the supervision of the Director of Agriculture who approves the budget and sits on the Board of Directors.