التصنيفات والأحجام

صرامة تصنيفات واشنطن

تطبق صناعة التفاح في ولاية واشنطن أكثر معايير التصنيف صرامة في البلاد. أرست الولاية أول معايير لتصنيف التفاح على مستوى الأمة في عام 1915. وبعد نحو ثلاث سنوات، وضعت وزارة الزراعة الأمريكية معايير التصنيف الوطنية للتفاح في عام 1923.

يمكن اليوم تعبئة تفاح واشنطن وفقًا لمعايير ولاية واشنطن أو المعايير الأمريكية. وفي ما يلي تصنيفات ولاية واشنطن، مرتّبة من الأعلى:

  • واشنطن إكسترا فانسي
  • يو إس إكسترا فانسي
  • واشنطن فانسي
  • يو إس فانسي
  • يو إس نامبر 1
  • يو إس نامبر 1 هيل

 

ونادرًا ما يتم تعبئة مزيج من التصنيفات في واشنطن. تعتبر معايير التصنيف الحد الأدنى للمتطلبات. وقد تتجاوز جودة التفاح التصنيف المذكور على العبوة.

أعلى المعايير

يلتزم مزارعو تفاح واشنطن بتطبيق أعلى المعايير. واصل القراءة لتعرف كيف يلبي تفاح واشنطن معايير اللوائح التنظيمية الأمريكية الصارمة، بل ويتجاوزها.

الشكل

  • من بين أهم الاختلافات بين تصنيف ولاية واشنطن والتصنيف الأمريكي الخاص بأنواع التفاح الأحمر معنى عبارة “لون أحمر جيد” وتفسيرها. تشترط تصنيفات واشنطن أن يكون لون التفاح أكثر حُمرة واتساقًا وتركيزًا مما تشترطه التصنيفات الأمريكية.
  • تعتبر تصنيفات واشنطن أكثر تقييدًا من التصنيفات الأمريكية في ما يتعلق بأنواع التفاح الأخضر والأصفر، من حيث العيوب الظاهرية مثل الإصابات السطحية، ومختلف درجات شحوب اللون، والإصابات الناتجة عن سقوط البرَد. (الشحوب هو تغير لون قشرة التفاح نتيجة ظروف جوية في الأغلب).

جودة الثمرة من الداخل

  • إلى جانب السمات الخارجية المهمة جدًا، لا بد أن يلبي تفاح ريد ديليشس وجولدن ديليشس أكثر معايير الجودة صرامة في الصناعة. يجب على مراكز التعبئة أن تختبر تفاح ريد ديليشس قبل شحنه لضمان توفر الحد الأدنى من مستويات السكر، إذا تم حصاد المحصول قبل يوم 1 أكتوبر. لا بد أن يكون الحد الأدنى لمستوى المواد الصلبة الذائبة أو مستوى السكر 11 في المائة قبل تسويق تفاح ريد ديليشس. في حين يجب أن تبلغ نسبة المواد الصلبة الذائبة 10,5 في المائة على الأقل في تفاح جولدن ديليشس.
  • لا بد أيضًا أن تلبي كل تصنيفات وأحجام تفاح ريد ديليشس وجولدن ديليشس الحد الأدنى من معايير الصلابة في وقت الشحن، أو سيتم تحويلها إلى المعالجة. يجب أن يبلغ الضغط الداخلي لتفاح ريد ديليشس 12 رطلاً. وتفاح جولدن ديليشس 10 أرطال. علاوة على ذلك، يجب أن يكون الحد الأدنى للضغط الداخلي في تفاح جالا ويوناجولد 11 رطلاً. وهناك نسبة سماح تبلغ 10 في المائة. واشنطن هي منطقة الزراعة الوحيدة في العالم التي تفرض شرط الصلابة وقت الشحن.

التعبئة

  • تضطلع وزارة الزراعة بولاية واشنطن بتطبيق كافة المعايير سالفة الذكر بالتعاون مع وزارة الزراعة الأمريكية. يتم اختبار عينات من التفاح لتقييم اللون، والوزن، والضغط، ومستوى السكر، والتصنيف، والحالة قبل الحصاد وبعده، لتلبية متطلبات الولاية والمتطلبات الفيدرالية.

أحجام التفاح

يعبأ التفاح في صناديق كرتونية مصنوعة من الألياف الخشبية يزن كلٌ منها 40 رطلاً (يضع أغلب مسؤولي التعبئة 42 رطلاً على الأقل تحسبًا لفقدان الرطوبة في أثناء الشحن). ويتم تعيين أعداد محددة للثمار التي توضع في كل صندوق. أكبر حجم تعبئة هو 48، أي أن كل صندوق به 48 ثمرة تفاح، وتكون كل ثمرة كبيرة جدًا. وعادة ما تكون هذه الثمار الكبيرة غير متوفرة بكثرة. يوضح الجدول أعلاه كل حجم ووزنه وقطره التقريبي.

تصل محاصيل تفاح واشنطن عادة إلى أقصى حجم 100 و113. الفرق في القطر بين هذين الحجمين نحو 1/8 بوصة. (3 مم)

Apple Sizes Graph

Grades and sizing

Washington Grades Are More Stringent

The Washington State apple industry uses the most stringent grading standards in the country. In 1915, the State established the first grade standards in the nation for apples. The U.S. Department of Agriculture adopted national grade standards for apples eight years later in 1923.

Today, Washington Apples may be packed according to Washington State standards or U.S. standards. The hierarchy of grades from Washington, starting with the highest, is:

  • Washington Extra Fancy
  • U.S. Extra Fancy
  • Washington Fancy
  • U.S. Fancy
  • U.S. No. 1
  • U.S. No. 1 Hail


Combination grades are rarely packed in Washington. Grading standards are minimum requirements. Apple quality may exceed the grade marked.

A Higher Standard

Washington Apple growers hold themselves to a higher standard. Read on to learn how the quality of Washington Apples exceeds even stringent US regulations.


  • One major difference between Washington and U.S. grades on red varieties is the definition and interpretation of “good shade of red.” Washington grades require a more uniform, more intense, deeper shade of red than the U.S. grades.
  • On green and yellow varieties, Washington grades are more restrictive than U.S. grades on the amount of surface blemishes such as limb rubs, various types of russeting and hail damage. (Russeting is a discoloration of the apple skin that is usually caused by weather conditions.)

Internal Quality 

  • In addition to more demanding external qualities, Washington Red and Golden Delicious must meet the toughest internal quality standards in the industry. Packinghouses are required to test Red Delicious for minimum sugar levels before the apples can be shipped if the fruit has been harvested before October 1. Reds must have a minimum soluble solids level, or sugar level, of 11 percent before they can be marketed. Golden Delicious must have a minimum of 10.5 percent soluble solids.
  • All grades and sizes of Red and Golden Delicious must also meet minimum firmness standards at the time of shipment or be diverted to processing. Red Delicious must have 12 pounds internal pressure. Goldens must have 10 pounds internal pressure. In addition, Gala and Jonagold must have a minimum 11 pounds internal pressure. A 10 percent tolerance is allowed. Washington is the only growing region in the world with this firmness requirement at the time of shipment.


  • All of the above standards are enforced by the Washington State Department of Agriculture in cooperation with the U.S. Department of Agriculture. Random samples of apples are tested for color, weight, pressure, sugar, grade and condition, before and after harvest to enforce state and federal requirements.

Apple Sizes

Apples are packed in 40-pound fiberboard cartons (most packers put in at least 42 pounds to accommodate a little moisture loss in shipment). And they are designated by count — the number of apples in each carton. The largest packed size is 48, which means there are 48 apples in each box — a very large piece of fruit. Supplies of these large apples usually are very limited. The table above shows each size and its approximate weight and diameter.

Washington crops traditionally peak on sizes 100 and 113. The difference in dimension between sizes is approximately 1/8-inch. (3 mm)

Apple Sizes Graph