分級與規格

華盛頓的分級較為嚴格

華盛頓州蘋果產業使用美國最嚴格的分級標準。1915 年,華盛頓州制定了全美國第一套蘋果分級標準。美國農業部在 8 年後的 1923 年才通過國家蘋果分級標準。

現在,華盛頓蘋果可依照華盛頓州標準或美國標準包裝。華盛頓州的分級階層從高到低分別是:

  • Washington Extra Fancy
  • U.S. Extra Fancy
  • Washington Fancy
  • U.S. Fancy
  • U.S. No. 1
  • U.S. No. 1 Hail

 

華盛頓州鮮少將不同等級的蘋果混合包裝。分級標準是最低要求。蘋果品質可能超過所標示的級數。

最高標準

華盛頓蘋果果農自我要求的標準更高。請繼續閱讀,瞭解華盛頓蘋果的品質如何超越嚴格的美國法規要求。

外觀

  • 華盛頓和美國用於紅色品種的分級,其主要差異之一在於「紅色深度」的定義與解釋。華盛頓分級要求的紅色比美國分級所要求的更統一、更密集也更深。
  • 在綠色與黃色品種方面,華盛頓分級在樹枝摩擦、各種類型的銹斑與雹傷等表面瑕疵的規定比美國分級嚴格。(銹斑是蘋果果皮變色,通常是氣候條件所導致的。)

包裝

  • 以上所有標準均由華盛頓州農業部與美國農業部合作強制執行。他們會在採收前後隨機採樣蘋果,檢測顏色、重量、壓力、甜度、等級與狀況,強制執行州和聯邦的規定。

蘋果規格

蘋果會以 40 磅硬紙板箱包裝(由於運送過程中還會流失水分,因此大部分的包裝廠會裝入至少 42 磅)。而蘋果的規格由可裝進箱子的數量所指定。最大的包裝規格為 48,也就是每箱會有 48 顆蘋果,都是很大顆的水果。這些大蘋果的供貨通常非常有限。上表顯示各種規格以及約略重量與尺寸。

華盛頓栽種最多的傳統上是 100 和 113 兩種規格。規格之間的尺寸差異約為 1/8 英吋 (3 公釐)

Grades and sizing

Washington Grades Are More Stringent

The Washington State apple industry uses the most stringent grading standards in the country. In 1915, the State established the first grade standards in the nation for apples. The U.S. Department of Agriculture adopted national grade standards for apples eight years later in 1923.

Today, Washington Apples may be packed according to Washington State standards or U.S. standards. The hierarchy of grades from Washington, starting with the highest, is:

  • Washington Extra Fancy
  • U.S. Extra Fancy
  • Washington Fancy
  • U.S. Fancy
  • U.S. No. 1
  • U.S. No. 1 Hail


Combination grades are rarely packed in Washington. Grading standards are minimum requirements. Apple quality may exceed the grade marked.

A Higher Standard

Washington Apple growers hold themselves to a higher standard. Read on to learn how the quality of Washington Apples exceeds even stringent US regulations.


  • One major difference between Washington and U.S. grades on red varieties is the definition and interpretation of “good shade of red.” Washington grades require a more uniform, more intense, deeper shade of red than the U.S. grades.
  • On green and yellow varieties, Washington grades are more restrictive than U.S. grades on the amount of surface blemishes such as limb rubs, various types of russeting and hail damage. (Russeting is a discoloration of the apple skin that is usually caused by weather conditions.)

Internal Quality 

  • In addition to more demanding external qualities, Washington Red and Golden Delicious must meet the toughest internal quality standards in the industry. Packinghouses are required to test Red Delicious for minimum sugar levels before the apples can be shipped if the fruit has been harvested before October 1. Reds must have a minimum soluble solids level, or sugar level, of 11 percent before they can be marketed. Golden Delicious must have a minimum of 10.5 percent soluble solids.
  • All grades and sizes of Red and Golden Delicious must also meet minimum firmness standards at the time of shipment or be diverted to processing. Red Delicious must have 12 pounds internal pressure. Goldens must have 10 pounds internal pressure. In addition, Gala and Jonagold must have a minimum 11 pounds internal pressure. A 10 percent tolerance is allowed. Washington is the only growing region in the world with this firmness requirement at the time of shipment.


  • All of the above standards are enforced by the Washington State Department of Agriculture in cooperation with the U.S. Department of Agriculture. Random samples of apples are tested for color, weight, pressure, sugar, grade and condition, before and after harvest to enforce state and federal requirements.

Apple Sizes

Apples are packed in 40-pound fiberboard cartons (most packers put in at least 42 pounds to accommodate a little moisture loss in shipment). And they are designated by count — the number of apples in each carton. The largest packed size is 48, which means there are 48 apples in each box — a very large piece of fruit. Supplies of these large apples usually are very limited. The table above shows each size and its approximate weight and diameter.

Washington crops traditionally peak on sizes 100 and 113. The difference in dimension between sizes is approximately 1/8-inch. (3 mm)

Apple Sizes Graph