歷史

沒有其他蘋果比得上

在肥沃的谷地和美國太平洋西北地區高原,都有果農照料生產世界最棒蘋果的果園。蘋果果園的面積超過 175,000 英畝,座落於華盛頓州海拔 500 至 3,000 英呎的優美喀斯喀特山脈東邊山麓。果園以充足而沁涼的山泉水灌溉。

美國拓荒者最初是在 19 世紀初發現這個地方,到了 1826 年,早期屯墾者發現這個地區有著富含火山灰的土壤與充足日照,創造出種植蘋果的理想條件。乾燥的氣候也代表蟲害與病害問題較少,因此蘋果整體收成品質也能提昇。拓荒者注意到沿著溪岸種植的蘋果樹健康而有活力,因此開發了灌溉系統,到了 1889 年,成立了商業果園。州內大部分的蘋果種植區仍沿著主要河流的河岸分佈。

華盛頓蘋果園的平均大小約為 100 英畝,但有些果園可能大至 5,000 英畝,整年要聘用 300 位或更多農場工人。在採收高峰期,估計需要 35,000 至 45,000 位採果人員投入採收工作。華盛頓州果農成功收穫多種品種的蘋果,包括五爪蘋果與金冠蘋果、翠玉蘋果、布雷本蘋果、脆蜜蘋果、富士蘋果、加拉蘋果,還有其他許多品種。

果農不斷改善種植方法,生產出更脆更多汁、風味更棒、抗逆性更好而能更妥善存放的蘋果。

全新的高密度種植法使用矮樹種,讓果園的生產更加快速。較矮小的樹種易於摘採、減少梯子的使用,增加收成的速度與安全性。

The rich history of Washington apples

No Other Apple Comes Close

In the fertile valleys and plateaus of America’s Pacific Northwest, growers tend orchards that produce the world’s best apples. More than 175,000 acres of apple orchards are nestled in the eastern foothills of the picturesque Cascade Mountains of Washington at elevations from 500 to 3,000 feet above sea level. The orchards are irrigated with plentiful and cool mountain water.

The area first became known to American pioneers at the turn of the 19th century and by 1826, early settlers had discovered that the area’s rich lava-ash soil and plentiful sunshine created the ideal conditions for growing apples. The arid climate also meant fewer insect and disease problems, thereby increasing the overall pristine quality of the apples through to harvest. Noting the health and vigor of apple trees planted along stream banks, pioneers developed irrigation systems, and by 1889, commercial orchards were established. Most apple-growing districts in the State are still located along the banks of major rivers.

The average size of a Washington Apple orchard is about 100 acres, but some cover as many as 5,000 acres and employ 300 or more farm workers year-round. It takes an estimated 35,000 to 45,000 pickers to harvest the apple crop during the peak of harvest. Washington State growers successfully harvest a wide variety of apples including Red and Golden Delicious, Granny Smith, Braeburn, Honeycrisp, Fuji, Gala and many others.

Orchardists continually improve growing methods to produce apples that are crisper, juicier, more flavorful and heartier so that they keep better in storage.

New high-density plantings bring orchards into production faster through the use of dwarf trees. The smaller trees are easier to pick and reduce the use of ladders, improving the speed and safety of the harvest.