التاريخ

لا يوجد تفاح آخر مثله

يعتني المزارعون بالبساتين التي تنتج أفضل تفاح في العالم في الوديان والهضاب الخصبة بمنطقة شمال غرب المحيط الهادئ. يمتد أكثر من 175,000 فدان من بساتين التفاح عبر التلال الشرقية المنخفضة لسلسلة جبال كاسكيد ذات المناظر الأخاذة على ارتفاعات من 500 إلى 3,000 قدم فوق مستوى سطح البحر. تُروى البساتين بمياه الجبال الباردة الوفيرة.

اكتشف المهاجرون الأمريكيون المبكرون المنطقة لأول مرة في مطلع القرن التاسع عشر، وبحلول عام 1826 كان المستوطنون الأوائل قد أدركوا أن المنطقة تنعم بالظروف المثالية لزراعة التفاح، بفضل التربة الغنية بالرماد البركاني وأشعة الشمس الوفيرة. ساعد ذلك المناخ الجاف في قلة انتشار الحشرات والأمراض، الأمر الذي أضاف إلى جودة التفاح الطبيعية بوجه عام منذ نموه وحتى وقت حصاده. عندما لاحظ المهاجرون الأوائل قوة أشجار التفاح المنتشرة بامتداد ضفاف الأنهار وحيويتها، بادروا بابتكار أنظمة للري. وبحلول عام 1889 كانت بساتين التفاح المؤسسة لأغراض تجارية قد ظهرت. وما زالت أغلب مناطق زراعة التفاح في الولاية تمتد على ضفاف الأنهار الكبيرة.

يبلغ متوسط مساحة بستان تفاح واشنطن الواحد نحو 100 فدان، في حين تمتد بعض البساتين على مساحة 5,000 فدان، وتحتاج إلى 300 عامل زراعي أو أكثر للعمل فيها على مدار العام. يتطلب الأمر ما بين 35,000 و45,000 قاطف تفاح لحصد محصول التفاح خلال ذروة الحصاد. يفخر مزارعو ولاية واشنطن بإنتاج مجموعة واسعة من أنواع التفاح، تشمل تفاح ريد ديليشس، وجولدن ديليشس، وجراني سميث، وبريبيرن، وهاني كريسب، وفوجي، وجالا، وغيرها كثير.

يبذل البستانيون مساعيهم باستمرار لتحسين أساليب الزراعة لإنتاج تفاح صلب، كثير العصارة، قوي النكهة، ومتماسك ليظل بحالة جيدة أثناء التخزين.

تساعد أساليب الزراعة الجديدة عالية الكثافة البساتين في إسراع عملية إنتاج التفاح باستخدام الأشجار القزمية. فثمار الأشجار الصغيرة سهلة الجمع، ولا تحتاج إلى استخدام سلالم، مما يزيد من سرعة عملية الحصاد وسلامة المحصول.

The rich history of Washington apples

No Other Apple Comes Close

In the fertile valleys and plateaus of America’s Pacific Northwest, growers tend orchards that produce the world’s best apples. More than 175,000 acres of apple orchards are nestled in the eastern foothills of the picturesque Cascade Mountains of Washington at elevations from 500 to 3,000 feet above sea level. The orchards are irrigated with plentiful and cool mountain water.

The area first became known to American pioneers at the turn of the 19th century and by 1826, early settlers had discovered that the area’s rich lava-ash soil and plentiful sunshine created the ideal conditions for growing apples. The arid climate also meant fewer insect and disease problems, thereby increasing the overall pristine quality of the apples through to harvest. Noting the health and vigor of apple trees planted along stream banks, pioneers developed irrigation systems, and by 1889, commercial orchards were established. Most apple-growing districts in the State are still located along the banks of major rivers.

The average size of a Washington Apple orchard is about 100 acres, but some cover as many as 5,000 acres and employ 300 or more farm workers year-round. It takes an estimated 35,000 to 45,000 pickers to harvest the apple crop during the peak of harvest. Washington State growers successfully harvest a wide variety of apples including Red and Golden Delicious, Granny Smith, Braeburn, Honeycrisp, Fuji, Gala and many others.

Orchardists continually improve growing methods to produce apples that are crisper, juicier, more flavorful and heartier so that they keep better in storage.

New high-density plantings bring orchards into production faster through the use of dwarf trees. The smaller trees are easier to pick and reduce the use of ladders, improving the speed and safety of the harvest.