التفاح العضوي

لا يوجد تفاح آخر مثله

Gala apple

تشتهر ولاية واشنطن بأنها واحدة من أهم مناطق زراعة التفاح في العالم. فهي تضم كافة العناصر المثالية لإنتاج ثمار عالية الجودة؛ مثل التربة الغنية بالمواد المغذية، والمناخ الجاف، والمياه الوفيرة، والممارسات الزراعية المتقدمة.

ونفس هذه العناصر هي ما يؤهل واشنطن أن تكون المكان الأمثل لزراعة التفاح العضوي. إذ يساعد جفاف المناخ ودرجات الحرارة المثالية في تقليل الأمراض ومشكلات الآفات التي قد يتعرض لها التفاح. ويقلل هذا المناخ الممتاز الحاجة إلى استخدام تطبيقات لمكافحة الآفات والحشرات. علاوة على ذلك، فإن معايير الجودة المطبقة على جميع محاصيل التفاح في واشنطن أكثر صرامة من معايير التصنيف المستخدمة في أيّ منطقة زراعية أخرى في العالم.

تنتشر مزارع عضوية توفر أنواع التفاح الثمانية الرئيسية في واشنطن.

تشير الإحصاءات الواردة من مركز أبحاث ونشر أشجار الفاكهة التابع لجامعة واشنطن الحكومية إلى أن أغلب أفدنة الزراعة العضوية في واشنطن تنتج تفاح جالا وفوجي، يليها تفاح جولدن ديليشس، وريد ديليشس، وجراني سميث، وكريبس بينك، وبريبيرن، وهاني كريسب™، وغيرها من الأنواع الجديدة.

لا تزدهر صناعة التفاح العضوي في واشنطن فحسب، بل إنها تضع نصب عينيها تاريخ الولاية منقطع النظير، والتفاني لتبني ممارسات الإنتاج الحديثة. أكثر من 25 في المائة من مسؤولي تعبئة التفاح في الولاية حاصلين على شهادة مختص عضوي من برنامج الأطعمة العضوية بوزارة الزراعة في ولاية واشنطن.

ما معنى كلمة “عضوي”؟

تشير كلمة عضوي إلى طريقة زراعة المنتجات الزراعية ومعالجتها. يعتمد إنتاج الأطعمة العضوية على نظام زراعة يحافظ على خصوبة التربة وتجديدها من خلال استخدام وسائل بيولوجية بدلاً من الوسائل الكيميائية لمكافحة الآفات. تخضع الأطعمة العضوية لأقل قدر ممكن من المعالجة، دون إضافة مكوّنات صناعية، أو مواد حافظة، أو التعرض للإشعاع. ولا تجيز اللوائح التنظيمية للزراعة العضوية استخدام الكائنات المعدّلة وراثيًا.

Apple tree orchardحقائق مهمة حول تفاح واشنطن العضوي

  • يُنتج مزارعو تفاح واشنطن حاليًا ما يزيد عن 8 ملايين صندوق من التفاح العضوي المعتمد. وهو ما يعادل 160,000 طن من التفاح!
  • تضم ولاية واشنطن 14,050 فدانًا من البساتين العضوية المعتمدة.
  • الولايات المتحدة هي المنتج الأول للتفاح العضوي في العالم، وتنتج ولاية واشنطن أكثر من 80% من التفاح العضوي المعتمد في الولايات المتحدة.
  • يتوفر تفاح واشنطن العضوي في كل الأنواع الرئيسية: ريد ديليشس، وجولدن ديليشس، وجراني سميث، وجالا، وفوجي، وبريبيرن، وكريبس بينك، وهاني كريسب™.
  • تُجمع كل تفاحة من تفاح واشنطن العضوي باليد.
  • إذا أردت شراء تفاح واشنطن العضوي، ما عليك سوى البحث عن الملصق الموضوع على الثمرة الذي يوضح أنها ثمرة عضوية معتمدة من وزارة الزراعة الأمريكية.

 

apple-boxزراعة تفاح واشنطن العضوي وتعبئته

لا يُزرع تفاح واشنطن العضوي ولا يعبأ إلا باستخدام مواد وأساليب معتمدة من برنامج الزراعة العضوية الوطني (NOP) الذي يشترط استخدام مواد وعمليات طبيعية. تحصل البساتين العضوية على التغذية والسماد المكوّن من سماد طبيعي، وروث حيوانات، ومسحوق السمك، وبقايا النباتات، وغيرها من المواد المغذية الطبيعية. كما تعتمد الوسائل الطبيعية لمكافحة الآفات على المستخلصات النباتية، وعمليات التخمّر بمساعدة الخميرة، والحشرات المفيدة، وفيرمونات تعطيل التزاوج، وأنظمة استدراج الآفات بطُعم وحبسها. كذلك يمكن التخلص من الأعشاب الضارة باستخدام فرش الوقاية، وتغطية المزروعات، وغيرها من الأساليب الآلية.

أضف إلى ذلك أن التفاح العضوي المعتمد لا تتم معالجته وتعبئته إلا بمعدات تستخدم السيور، والفراشي، والمياه المنظّفة والمجهّزة خصيصًا للتعامل مع الثمار العضوية. لا يمكن أن يختلط التفاح العضوي بالتفاح المزروع بالأساليب المعتادة، سواءً في البستان أو في مراكز التعبئة.

apple-tree-binطريقة اعتماد بستان التفاح العضوي

لا بد أن تكون الأرض التي يُزرع فيها التفاح قد زُرعت بأسلوب عضوي لمدة ثلاث سنوات أو تُركت بدون زراعة لمدة ثلاث سنوات قبل اعتمادها. أي أنه يجب اتباع الممارسات واستخدام المواد المُجازة وفقًا لمعايير الزراعة العضوية الوطنية لمدة ثلاث سنوات على الأقل قبل حصاد أول محصول عضوي معتمد. يعتبر التفاح الذي ينتجه البستان قبل انقضاء السنة الثالثة “في مرحلة انتقالية”. ولا تُباع ثمار المرحلة الانتقالية كثمار عضوية معتمدة.

مراقبة ممارسات زراعة التفاح العضوي والتعامل معه

Hand picking apple
يفرض برنامج الزراعة العضوية الوطني على المنتجين والأفراد المتعاملين مع المحصول تقديم خطة النظام العضوي. على أن تضم الخطة توثيقًا للممارسات والإجراءات المتّبعة، والمواد المخطط استخدامها، وأساليب مراقبة التربة المستخدمة، لضمان الحفاظ على جودة التربة والماء وتحسينها، فضلاً عن تضمين كل السجلات. هذا بالإضافة إلى الإجراءات المطبّقة لتفادي اختلاط التفاح العضوي بالتفاح العادي، في حالة المزارعين الذين ينتجون النوعين أو يتعاملون معهما. كما يجب كل عام تقديم تحديث سنوي لخطة النظام.

معاينة بساتين التفاح العضوي ومرافق التعبئة

تجب معاينة البساتين العضوية ومرافق التعبئة كل عام. وتضطلع وزارة الزراعة بولاية واشنطن بهذه المعاينات. تُجمع عينات عشوائية في أثناء عملية المعاينة لمنح الشهادة، للتأكد من الامتثال لمعايير الإنتاج العضوي. يجب على المزارعين تقديم عينات اختبار التربة كل ثلاث سنوات.

التعرف على التفاح العضوي

تساعد الملصقات الموضوعة على التفاح واللافتات المستخدمة في المتاجر الكبيرة المتسوقين على معرفة التفاح العضوي. وضعت وزارة الزراعة الأمريكية، بالإضافة إلى معايير الزراعة العضوية الوطنية، قواعد صارمة خاصة بالملصقات، لمساعدة المستهلكين في التعرف بالضبط على المحتويات العضوية للأطعمة التي يشترونها. يضمن وجود الختم العضوي لوزارة الزراعة الأمريكية على المنتج أنه عضوي بنسبة 95 في المائة على الأقل. غير أن مزارعي التفاح قد يوردون كامل تفاصيل الختم العضوي لوزارة الزراعة الأمريكية وقد لا يفعلون، بحيث تجد فقط عبارة “عضوي معتمد” مطبوعة على ملصق التفاح العضوي المعتمد.

نبذة حول برنامج الزراعة العضوية الوطني

بدأت جهود توحيد معايير الشهادات العضوية على مستوى وطني في عام 1990، عندما أجاز الكونجرس قانون إنتاج الأطعمة العضوية (OFPA). فرض صدور قانون إنتاج الأطعمة العضوية على وزارة الزراعة الأمريكية وضع معايير وطنية للمنتجات الزراعية المنتجة بطريقة عضوية، لضمان أن هذه المنتجات تلبي معايير موحّدة ومتّسقة من أجل المستهلكين.

فوضعت وزارة الزراعة الأمريكية برنامج الزراعة العضوية الوطني (NOP). تحدد معايير برنامج الزراعة العضوية الوطني تعريف مصطلح “عضوي”. كما تتناول بالتفصيل الأساليب، والممارسات، والمواد التي يمكن استخدامها في إنتاج المحاصيل العضوية، والماشية، والمنتجات المعالجة، وطرق التعامل معها.

بدأت وزارة الزراعة بولاية واشنطن في عام 1988 منح شهادات ترخيص البساتين بموجب قوانين الأطعمة العضوية الصادرة عن الولاية. عندما استحدثت وزارة الزراعة الأمريكية البرنامج الوطني، حصلت وزارة الزراعة بولاية واشنطن على تفويض بمنح شهادات اعتماد البساتين، ومسؤولي المعالجة، واختصاصي التعامل وفقًا لمعايير البرنامج الوطني.

Organic apples

No Other Apple Comes Close

Gala apple

Washington State is known as one of the premier apple-growing areas in the world. The nutrient-rich soil, arid climate, plentiful water and advanced growing practices provide the right ingredients for producing top-quality fruit.

These same elements also make Washington the finest place to grow organic apples. The dry climate and ideal temperatures reduce the number of disease and pest problems that can impact fruit. This superior climate reduces the need for applications to control insects and pests. In addition, Washington’s quality standards for all apples are more stringent than grading standards used in any other growing region in the world.

All of Washington’s eight key varieties are available as organically grown.

Statistics from Washington State University’s Tree Fruit Research and Extension Center indicate most of the Washington organic acreage planted is in Gala and Fuji apple varieties followed by Golden Delicious, Red Delicious, Granny Smith, Cripps Pink, Braeburn, Honeycrisp™ and other new varieties.

And Washington’s organic apple industry is not only growing, but it is holding true to the state’s unmatched history of dedication to cutting-edge production practices. More than 25 percent of the state’s apple packers hold Organic Handler Certificates from the Washington State Department of Agriculture’s Organic Food Program.


What Does “Organic” Mean?

Organic refers to the way agricultural products are grown and processed. Organic food production is based on a system of farming that maintains and replenishes soil fertility through the use of biological pest control, rather than chemical. Organic foods are minimally processed without artificial ingredients, preservatives or irradiation. Genetically modified organisms are not allowed under organic regulations.

Apple tree orchardCore Facts About Organic Washington Apples

  • Washington apple growers currently produce over 8 million boxes of certified organic apples. That equates to 160,000 tons!
  • Washington State cultivates 14,050 acres of certified organic orchards.
  • The United States is the leading organic apple producer in the world, with Washington State growing more than 80% of U.S. certified organic apples.
  • Organic Washington apples are available in every key variety – Red Delicious, Golden Delicious, Granny Smith, Gala, Fuji, Braeburn, Cripps Pink, and Honeycrisp™.
  • Each organic Washington apple is picked by hand.
  • If you choose to buy organic Washington apples, simply look for the sticker on your apple that says that it is certified USDA organic.


apple-boxGrowing and Packing Organic Washington Apples

Organic Washington apples are grown and packed only with materials and methods approved by the National Organic Program (NOP), which rely on natural materials and processes. Organic orchards receive nutrition and fertilizers consisting of compost, animal manure, fishmeal, plant residues and other natural nutrients. Natural pest control methods are derived from plant extracts, the fermentations of yeast, beneficial insects, mating disruption pheromones and systems that bait and trap pests. Weeds may be controlled by mulching, cover plantings and mechanical methods.

In addition, certified organic apples can be processed and packed only on equipment using belts, brushes and water specially cleaned and prepared to handle organic fruit. Organic apples may not commingle with conventionally grown apples in either the orchard or in the packing houses.


apple-tree-binBecoming a Certified Organic Apple Orchard

The land on which the apples are grown must have been farmed organically for three years or fallowed for three years before certification is granted. This means that for at least three years prior to the first certified organic harvest, only practices and materials allowed under the national organic standard have been used. Prior to the third year, the apples from the orchard are considered “transitional fruit.” Transitional fruit cannot be sold as certified organically grown.

Monitoring Organic Apple Growing and Handling Practices

Hand picking apple
The National Organic Program requires producers and handlers to submit an Organic System Plan. The plan must document the practices and procedures used, the materials planned for use, the soil monitoring methods used to determine that soil and water quality are being maintained and improved, and the records that are maintained. And, for growers who produce or handle both organic and conventional apples, the procedures that are in place to prevent commingling. An annual update of the system plan must also be submitted each year.

Inspection of Organic Apple Orchards and Packing Facilities

It is mandatory that organic orchards and packing facilities be inspected every year. The Washington State Department of Agriculture conducts these inspections. During the certification process, random samples are collected to verify compliance with organic production standards. Growers must submit soil tests every three years.

Identifying Organically Grown Apples

Stickers on apples and signs in the supermarket will help direct shoppers to organically grown apples. Along with the national organic standards, the USDA developed strict labeling rules to help consumers know the exact organic content of the food they buy. The USDA Organic seal tells you that a product is at least 95 percent organic. However, apple growers may or may not use the full USDA Organic seal, the certified organic apples may simply have “certified organic” on the existing sticker.

About the National Organic Program

The standardization of organic certification nationwide started in 1990 when Congress passed the Organic Foods Production Act (OFPA). The OFPA required the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) to develop national standards for organically produced agricultural products to assure consumers that those products meet consistent, uniform standards.

The USDA then created the National Organic Program (NOP). NOP standards offer a national definition for the term organic. They detail the methods, practices and substances that can be used in producing and handling organic crops, livestock, and processed products.

Beginning in 1988, the Washington State Department of Agriculture (WSDA) had been certifying orchards under the state’s organic food laws. When the USDA created the national program, the WSDA was accredited to certify orchards, processors and handlers under the national program.