有機

沒有其他有機蘋果比得上

Gala apple

華盛頓州是眾所皆知的最大蘋果種植地區。富含營養的土壤、乾燥的氣候、充沛的水源和先進的栽種方法,提供了生產高品質水果的有利條件。

正是這些因素讓華盛頓州成為種植有機水果的最佳地點。乾燥的氣候與理想的溫度減少了疾病數量與影響水果的病蟲問題。這種優越的氣候降低了防治昆蟲與病蟲的施作需要。此外,華盛頓州對所有蘋果的品質標準比世界上其他產區的分級標準還要嚴格。

華盛頓的八大重要品種都能以有機方式種植。

華盛頓州立大學果樹研究與推廣中心的統計指出,華盛頓州有機栽培面積最大的是 Gala(加拉)蘋果與 Fuji(富士)蘋果等品種,接著是 Golden Delicious(金冠蘋果)、Red Delicious(五爪蘋果)、Granny Smith(翠玉蘋果)、Cripps Pink(秋蜜蘋果)、Braeburn(布雷本蘋果)、Honeycrisp™(脆蜜蘋果) 和其他新品種。.

且華盛頓的有機蘋果產業不只日漸成長,在致力於頂尖生產方式方面,更有著無人能比的歷史。州內 25% 的蘋果包裝廠持有華盛頓州農業廳有機食品制度核發的有機處理人員認證。

「有機」是什麼意思?

有機是指農產品栽種與加工的一種特別方式。有機食物生產是使用生物蟲害控制而不使用化學產品維持並補充土壤肥力的農耕系統。有機食品只有最低加工,無人造成份、防腐劑或輻射。基因改造的有機體是有機法規所不允許的。

Apple tree orchard有機華盛頓蘋果的核心價值

  • 華盛頓蘋果農目前生產超過 800 萬箱的有機認證蘋果,等同於 160,000 噸!
  • 華盛頓州栽種了 14,050 英畝的有機認證果園。
  • 美國是世界領先的有機蘋果生產國,而華盛頓州生產的有機認證蘋果超過美國總數的 80%。
  • 有機華盛頓蘋果可見於各種品種 – Red Delicious(五爪蘋果)、Golden Delicious(金冠蘋果)、Granny Smith(翠玉蘋果)、Gala(加拉蘋果)、Fuji(富士蘋果)、Braeburn(布雷本蘋果)、Cripps Pink(秋蜜蘋果)和 Honeycrisp™(蜜味脆蘋果)。
  • 每顆有機華盛頓蘋果都是手工摘採的。
  • 若您選擇購買有機華盛頓蘋果,只需在蘋果上認明 USDA 有機認證的貼紙即可。

 

apple-box有機華盛頓蘋果的栽種與包裝

有機華盛頓蘋果僅以「國家統一有機規劃 (NOP)」核准的材料與方法,使用天然素材與程序進行栽種與包裝。有機果園施用的營養與肥料包含堆肥、動物肥料、魚粉、植物殘體和其他天然營養物。天然蟲害防治方法來自於植物萃取、酵母菌發酵、益蟲、交配干擾費洛蒙,和誘捕害蟲的系統。雜草的控制方法有護根、覆蓋種植和機械方法等。

此外,有機認證蘋果的加工與包裝使用的設備,只能使用專為處理有機水果而清潔與完備的皮帶、刷子與水。無論在果園還是包裝室,有機蘋果都不得和傳統種植方式的蘋果混合在一起。

apple-tree-bin成為有機認證的蘋果園

要種植蘋果的土地需以有機方式耕作三年或休耕三年,才能授予認證。這表示第一批有機認證收穫之前至少有三年的時間,只能使用國家有機標準規定的方法與材料。果園在第三年之前的蘋果會被認為是「轉型期水果」。轉型期水果不得當作認證有機栽種水果銷售。

監控有機蘋果種植與處理的方法

Hand picking apple
美國「國家統一有機規劃」會要求生產商與處理商提供一份「有機系統計畫」。計畫必須以文件提供所用的方法與程序、計畫使用的材料、用來判斷土壤與水質是否維持與改善的土壤監控方法,以及所保留的記錄。且若果農同時生產或處理有機與傳統蘋果,需擬定程序以避免混合。每年必須送交系統計畫的年度更新。

有機蘋果園和包裝設施的檢查

有機果園和包裝設施每年需強制接受檢查。華盛頓州農業部會進行這些檢查。在認證程序中,會隨機取樣並採集以驗證是否符合有機生產標準。果農必須每三年送交土壤檢驗報告。

識別有機栽種的蘋果

蘋果上的貼紙和超市的標誌有助於引導消費者選購有機栽種的蘋果。除了國家有機標準以外,USDA 還研擬了嚴格的標籤規定,協助消費者確實瞭解所買食物的有機內容。「USDA Organic」標章表示產品 95% 以上是有機的。但蘋果果農可能會也可能不會使用完整的「USDA Organic」標章,有機認證蘋果只會貼上現有的「有機認證」貼紙。

關於美國「國家統一有機規劃」

美國全國性的有機認證標準始於 1990 年國會通過「有機食品生產法 (OFPA)」。OFPA 要求美國農業部 (USDA) 研擬有機生產農產品的國家標準,為消費者確定這些產品符合一致、統一的標準。

USDA 然後制定了美國「國家統一有機規劃 (NOP)」。NOP 標準為有機這個詞彙提供了國家定義。其中詳述生產與處理有機作物、牲畜與加工產品可用的方法、作法與物質。

1988 起,華盛頓州農業廳 (WSDA) 開始根據州的有機食物法律認證果園。當 USDA 制定全國方案時,WSDA 被委派根據國家方案認證果園、加工業者與處理業者。

Organic apples

No Other Apple Comes Close

Gala apple

Washington State is known as one of the premier apple-growing areas in the world. The nutrient-rich soil, arid climate, plentiful water and advanced growing practices provide the right ingredients for producing top-quality fruit.

These same elements also make Washington the finest place to grow organic apples. The dry climate and ideal temperatures reduce the number of disease and pest problems that can impact fruit. This superior climate reduces the need for applications to control insects and pests. In addition, Washington’s quality standards for all apples are more stringent than grading standards used in any other growing region in the world.

All of Washington’s eight key varieties are available as organically grown.

Statistics from Washington State University’s Tree Fruit Research and Extension Center indicate most of the Washington organic acreage planted is in Gala and Fuji apple varieties followed by Golden Delicious, Red Delicious, Granny Smith, Cripps Pink, Braeburn, Honeycrisp™ and other new varieties.

And Washington’s organic apple industry is not only growing, but it is holding true to the state’s unmatched history of dedication to cutting-edge production practices. More than 25 percent of the state’s apple packers hold Organic Handler Certificates from the Washington State Department of Agriculture’s Organic Food Program.


What Does “Organic” Mean?

Organic refers to the way agricultural products are grown and processed. Organic food production is based on a system of farming that maintains and replenishes soil fertility through the use of biological pest control, rather than chemical. Organic foods are minimally processed without artificial ingredients, preservatives or irradiation. Genetically modified organisms are not allowed under organic regulations.

Apple tree orchardCore Facts About Organic Washington Apples

  • Washington apple growers currently produce over 8 million boxes of certified organic apples. That equates to 160,000 tons!
  • Washington State cultivates 14,050 acres of certified organic orchards.
  • The United States is the leading organic apple producer in the world, with Washington State growing more than 80% of U.S. certified organic apples.
  • Organic Washington apples are available in every key variety – Red Delicious, Golden Delicious, Granny Smith, Gala, Fuji, Braeburn, Cripps Pink, and Honeycrisp™.
  • Each organic Washington apple is picked by hand.
  • If you choose to buy organic Washington apples, simply look for the sticker on your apple that says that it is certified USDA organic.


apple-boxGrowing and Packing Organic Washington Apples

Organic Washington apples are grown and packed only with materials and methods approved by the National Organic Program (NOP), which rely on natural materials and processes. Organic orchards receive nutrition and fertilizers consisting of compost, animal manure, fishmeal, plant residues and other natural nutrients. Natural pest control methods are derived from plant extracts, the fermentations of yeast, beneficial insects, mating disruption pheromones and systems that bait and trap pests. Weeds may be controlled by mulching, cover plantings and mechanical methods.

In addition, certified organic apples can be processed and packed only on equipment using belts, brushes and water specially cleaned and prepared to handle organic fruit. Organic apples may not commingle with conventionally grown apples in either the orchard or in the packing houses.


apple-tree-binBecoming a Certified Organic Apple Orchard

The land on which the apples are grown must have been farmed organically for three years or fallowed for three years before certification is granted. This means that for at least three years prior to the first certified organic harvest, only practices and materials allowed under the national organic standard have been used. Prior to the third year, the apples from the orchard are considered “transitional fruit.” Transitional fruit cannot be sold as certified organically grown.

Monitoring Organic Apple Growing and Handling Practices

Hand picking apple
The National Organic Program requires producers and handlers to submit an Organic System Plan. The plan must document the practices and procedures used, the materials planned for use, the soil monitoring methods used to determine that soil and water quality are being maintained and improved, and the records that are maintained. And, for growers who produce or handle both organic and conventional apples, the procedures that are in place to prevent commingling. An annual update of the system plan must also be submitted each year.

Inspection of Organic Apple Orchards and Packing Facilities

It is mandatory that organic orchards and packing facilities be inspected every year. The Washington State Department of Agriculture conducts these inspections. During the certification process, random samples are collected to verify compliance with organic production standards. Growers must submit soil tests every three years.

Identifying Organically Grown Apples

Stickers on apples and signs in the supermarket will help direct shoppers to organically grown apples. Along with the national organic standards, the USDA developed strict labeling rules to help consumers know the exact organic content of the food they buy. The USDA Organic seal tells you that a product is at least 95 percent organic. However, apple growers may or may not use the full USDA Organic seal, the certified organic apples may simply have “certified organic” on the existing sticker.

About the National Organic Program

The standardization of organic certification nationwide started in 1990 when Congress passed the Organic Foods Production Act (OFPA). The OFPA required the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) to develop national standards for organically produced agricultural products to assure consumers that those products meet consistent, uniform standards.

The USDA then created the National Organic Program (NOP). NOP standards offer a national definition for the term organic. They detail the methods, practices and substances that can be used in producing and handling organic crops, livestock, and processed products.

Beginning in 1988, the Washington State Department of Agriculture (WSDA) had been certifying orchards under the state’s organic food laws. When the USDA created the national program, the WSDA was accredited to certify orchards, processors and handlers under the national program.