包裝程序

包裝、儲存與運送華盛頓蘋果

apple-tree-bin

一顆顆蘋果在果園中手工摘下後,就會收集在大箱子內,立即送到附近的包裝廠。

apple-box

新鮮採收的蘋果會在此進行徹底清洗,接著依照顏色、大小和品質分類,再以人工細心的裝箱,準備送往世界各地的一般商店、水果店和餐廳。

apple-snowflake

華盛頓蘋果在運送到目的地的過程中會保持冷藏。

apple-stand-store

大多數人會在一般商店與水果店購買華盛頓蘋果。各外銷市場可能備有多達九種華盛頓州栽種的蘋果品種可供選擇。

 

apple-on-fridge

買回家後請將蘋果冷藏。這樣能保持清脆,讓您隨時能吃到健康美味的零食!

華盛頓蘋果產業持續投資最先進的包裝與儲存設施,確保送到消費者手中的蘋果與果園採收的蘋果一樣具有高品質。

採收之後,蘋果會送到包裝廠測試澱粉與糖份,判斷風味是否到達最佳狀況。糖份較高的蘋果會放在冷藏儲藏室,優先包裝與出售。澱粉含量較高的蘋果則會儲存在密封、控制氣壓 (CA) 的儲藏室,以氮取代氧並讓溫度保持在 32 F/0 C。這樣的 CA 儲藏室能減慢蘋果的呼吸速率,讓蘋果不至於太快成熟,有助於保持脆度與風味。在這段時間內,澱粉會慢慢轉變成糖,讓剛離開 CA 儲藏室的蘋果有著現採的滋味。

華盛頓蘋果包裝倉庫內有著世界上數一數二先進的分級與撿料系統。電腦控制的攝影機與秤能測重、檢查並根據顏色、形狀與大小區分蘋果。另一套系統則能判斷蘋果的內部狀況,並挑出不符合華盛頓高標準脆度與條件的蘋果。

上蠟

新鮮蘋果在果園的生長過程會自然產生一層天然蠟質以自我保護。在包裝程序中,蘋果會經過清洗以去除果園塵垢,再重新加上一層天然臘質。這些蠟質會是棕櫚蠟(從巴西棕櫚樹的葉子取得)或蟲膠(從膠蟲 (Kerria lacca) 分泌物取得 – 類似蜜蜂的蜜)。這樣的天然蠟層能保護蘋果不致流失水分並保持爽脆,同時讓蘋果具有閃亮光澤,就像剛摘下時以袖子擦拭過一樣。上蠟這種方式廣泛用於食品產業 – 從蘋果到小黃瓜到巧克力 – 以保持鮮採般的脆度與風味,而且是經過美國食品藥物管理局核准使用。

Packing, Storing, and Transporting Washington Apples

Packing, Storing, and Transporting Washington Apples

apple-tree-bin

Once each and every apple is carefully picked by hand in the orchard, the apples are collected into large bins which are promptly brought to a nearby packing house.

 

 

apple-box

There, the freshly harvested apples are thoroughly washed, then sorted for color, size, and quality before being carefully packed by hand into boxes ready to deliver to grocery stores, fruit markets, and restaurants around the world.

apple-snowflake

Washington apples are kept under refrigeration while being transported to their destination.

apple-stand-store

Most people buy their Washington Apples in grocery stores. Your local market may stock as many as nine varieties grown in Washington State.

 

 

apple-on-fridge

Keep apples in your refrigerator at home. They’ll stay crisp, and you’ll have a healthy, tasty snack when you need one!

The Washington apple industry continues to invest in state-of-the-art packing and storage facilities to ensure that the same high quality harvested in the orchard is delivered to consumers.

After harvest, apples are sent to the packing house and tested for starch and sugar content to determine when they will be at the peak of flavor. The apples highest in sugar are placed in refrigerated storage rooms and will be packed and sold soonest. Those with higher starch content are stored in sealed, controlled atmosphere (CA) storage rooms, where oxygen is replaced by nitrogen and the temperature is held at about 32 F/0 C. This CA storage slows the apples’ respiration rate so that they do not mature as quickly, which helps to maintain crispness and flavor. During this time, the starch also slowly changes to sugar, so that an apple coming out of CA storage has that “just-picked” taste.

Inside Washington apple packing warehouses are some of the most advanced grading and sorting systems in the world. Computer-controlled cameras and scales weigh, inspect and separate the apples according to color, shape and size. Another system is able to determine the internal condition of the apple, and to cull apples out that do not meet the high Washington standards for crispness and condition.

 

Coatings

While still growing in the orchard, fresh apples naturally develop a natural waxy coating that protects them. During the packing process, apples are washed to remove any dirt from the orchard and then re-coated with a mixture of natural wax, either carnuba (obtained from the leaves of the palm Copernicia prunifera) or shellac (obtained from the secretions of the lac beetle (Kerria lacca) – similar to honey from bees). This natural coating protects the apple from losing moisture and crunch, and also gives it an appealing shine similar to what you would get if you rubbed a just-picked apple on your sleeve. Coatings are used extensively in the food industry – from apples to cucumbers to chocolate – to help maintain freshly harvested crispness and flavor.