栽種區域

栽種區域

華盛頓州有五大蘋果栽種區,各有獨特的特性。但這些地區都有著相同的理想栽種條件,這也正是種出世界最棒蘋果的基礎。

奧卡諾根

風景秀麗的奧卡諾根梯田式河畔果園,種植的是華盛頓最後一個產季收成的水果。這個地區位於北部,其中有狹長的梅叟河谷、蔥鬱的果園包圍梅叟河,以及寬闊而陡峭的奧卡諾根谷。此地區的生長期較短,涼爽的溫度生產出各種品種的絕佳蘋果。

奇蘭湖

奇蘭湖周圍的果園處於一種溫度獨特的微氣候中。這個深邃的湖泊能為酷夏降溫,讓寒冬的空氣變暖。奇蘭地區以出產品質、風味、質地、色澤和形狀都很細緻的蘋果而著名,且能維持外銷全世界所需的抗逆性。

韋納奇河谷

華盛頓蘋果產區的中心就是韋納奇河谷。水濱果園沿著湍急河流而立,生產各種顏色與風味的清脆可口蘋果。

哥倫比亞盆地

遼闊的哥倫比亞盆地位於哥倫比亞和蛇河之間。豐饒的火山土壤飽含沁涼的哥倫比亞河水,在廣闊土地上孕育無數蘋果。這個盆地的生長季較長,因此能生產較大的蘋果與較晚熟的品種。

亞基馬谷地

遼闊的亞基馬谷地由和緩綿延的群山所環繞,以灌溉方式打造出栽培蘋果的綠洲。這個地區從納奇斯 (Naches) 延伸到三城 (Tri-Cities),是華盛頓州最大的蘋果產區。亞基馬谷地以生長季較早也較長,能生產各種品種的高品質蘋果而著名。

Growing Regions

There are five main apple-growing regions in Washington, each with their own unique characteristics. They all share the same ideal growing conditions that lay the foundation for growing the world’s best apples.

Okanogan

From the terraced riverside orchards of the scenic Okanogan comes much of Washington’s late-season fruit. Located to the north, it consists of the narrow Methow Valley, its lush orchards hugging the Methow River, and the wider, steep-walled Okanogan Valley. The region’s shorter growing days and cool temperatures produce excellent apples of all varieties.

Lake Chelan

Orchards lining the shores of Lake Chelan are steeped in a unique, temperate microclimate. This deep lake cools the hot summer days and warms the air temperature in winter. The Chelan region is known for producing apples of exquisite quality, flavor, texture, color, and shape – plus they maintain the heartiness demanded for exporting around the globe.

Wenatchee Valley

The heart of Washington apple country is the Wenatchee Valley. Its waterfront orchards embrace the region’s rushing rivers, producing crisp, delicious apples in every color and flavor.

Columbia Basin

Between the Columbia and Snake Rivers lies the broad Columbia Basin. Its rich volcanic soil, fed by the cool waters of the Columbia, nurtures vast acres of apples. Blessed by a long growing season, the basin is noted for producing larger apples and later-maturing varieties.

Yakima Valley

Surrounded by gently rolling mountains, the wide Yakima Valley employs irrigation to create an oasis for apple cultivation. Stretching from the Naches to the Tri-Cities, it is the largest apple producing region in Washington. Noted for its earlier, as well as longer, growing season, the Yakima region produces high quality apples of every variety.