مناطق الزراعة

مناطق الزراعة

تضم واشنطن خمس مناطق رئيسية لزراعة التفاح، تتميز كلٌ منها بمميزات وخصائص فريدة. وتشترك كلها في توفر ظروف الزراعة المثالية التي تشكّل أساس زراعة أفضل تفاح في العالم.

أوكانوجان

تنتج مقاطعة أوكانوجان ذات المناظر الخلابة أغلب ثمار آخر الموسم في واشنطن من بساتينها المزروعة بنظام المساطب المطلة على ضفاف النهر. تقع المقاطعة في الشمال، وتتألف من وادي ميتو الضيق، وبساتينه الوارفة التي تحتضن نهر ميتو، ووادي أوكانوجان الواسع بمنحدراته الشديدة. تنتج المنطقة التفاح الممتاز على اختلاف أنواعه، بفضل قصر أيام الزراعة وانخفاض درجات الحرارة في المنطقة.

بحيرة شيلان

تنعم البساتين المنتشرة على شواطئ بحيرة شيلان بمناخ محلي معتدل فريد. تعمل هذه البحيرة العميقة على خفض درجة الحرارة في أيام الصيف الحارة، ورفع درجة حرارة الهواء في أيام الشتاء الباردة. تشتهر منطقة شيلان بإنتاج تفاح فاخر من حيث الجودة، والمذاق، والقوام، واللون، والشكل، كما يتميز بالتماسك المطلوب لتصديره إلى جميع أنحاء العالم.

وادي ويناتشي

يعد وادي ويناتشي عاصمة إنتاج تفاح واشنطن. تعانق البساتين الممتدة على ضفاف الماء الأنهار المتدفقة في المنطقة، لتنتج التفاح الصلب اللذيذ بمختلف الألوان والمذاقات.

حوض نهر كولومبيا

يمتد حوض نهر كولومبيا الواسع بين نهر كولومبيا ونهر سنيك (الأفعى). يتميز الحوض بتربته البركانية الخصبة، التي ترويها مياه نهر كولومبيا الباردة، لتغذي أفدنة شاسعة من بساتين التفاح. ويشتهر الحوض بإنتاج التفاح كبير الحجم والأنواع التي تنضج في وقت متأخر من الموسم، بفضل امتداد موسم الزراعة فيه.

وادي ياكيما

وادي ياكيما الواسع محاط بجبال متفاوتة الارتفاعات، ويعتمد الوادي على المياه المتجمّعة لتشكيل واحة مثالية لزراعة التفاح. يمتد الوادي من نهر ناكس إلى منطقة تري سيتيز، ويعتبر أكبر منطقة منتجة للتفاح في واشنطن. وتتميز منطقة ياكيما بموسم زراعة يبدأ مبكرًا، ويمتد طويلاً، وتنتج التفاح عالي الجودة من مختلف الأنواع.

Growing Regions

There are five main apple-growing regions in Washington, each with their own unique characteristics. They all share the same ideal growing conditions that lay the foundation for growing the world’s best apples.

Okanogan

From the terraced riverside orchards of the scenic Okanogan comes much of Washington’s late-season fruit. Located to the north, it consists of the narrow Methow Valley, its lush orchards hugging the Methow River, and the wider, steep-walled Okanogan Valley. The region’s shorter growing days and cool temperatures produce excellent apples of all varieties.

Lake Chelan

Orchards lining the shores of Lake Chelan are steeped in a unique, temperate microclimate. This deep lake cools the hot summer days and warms the air temperature in winter. The Chelan region is known for producing apples of exquisite quality, flavor, texture, color, and shape – plus they maintain the heartiness demanded for exporting around the globe.

Wenatchee Valley

The heart of Washington apple country is the Wenatchee Valley. Its waterfront orchards embrace the region’s rushing rivers, producing crisp, delicious apples in every color and flavor.

Columbia Basin

Between the Columbia and Snake Rivers lies the broad Columbia Basin. Its rich volcanic soil, fed by the cool waters of the Columbia, nurtures vast acres of apples. Blessed by a long growing season, the basin is noted for producing larger apples and later-maturing varieties.

Yakima Valley

Surrounded by gently rolling mountains, the wide Yakima Valley employs irrigation to create an oasis for apple cultivation. Stretching from the Naches to the Tri-Cities, it is the largest apple producing region in Washington. Noted for its earlier, as well as longer, growing season, the Yakima region produces high quality apples of every variety.